October 12, 2017

Property Tax Information

Property taxes are due and payable without penalty on the first Monday of October thru the last day of February.  You may make partial payments, although the full amount must be paid before March 1st to be considered paid on time.

 

You may pay in the trustee’s office during office hours, including partial payments.  If paying in full, you may pay at Farmers Bank or Reliant Bank.  You must take your tax notice with you to the bank, and you may only pay the current year taxes from October through February.

 

You may pay or search online at TennesseeTrustee.com.  You may pay over the phone at 1-877-768-5048.  You will need your receipt number. A fee is charged by the vendor of 2.75% for credit/debit cards or $2.75 for echecks.  Robertson County collects none of this convenience fee.

 

Starting on March 1st, 1.5% interest will be added on the first day of each month.

 

Personal property taxes are turned over to Chancery Court for collection on May 1st following the year of the tax.  The last day to pay in the trustee office will be the last working day prior to May 1st.

Real property taxes remain in our office until they are a full year delinquent. On April 1st of the next year, these are turned over to Chancery Court for collection.  If April 1st falls on a weekend or holiday, these will be turned over on the last working day prior to April 1st.  The last day to pay in the trustee office will be the day prior to the turnover date.  If you have any questions about the correct date, please call the trustee’s office.

 

Notices are mailed out in late Septemer or early October, depending on when the County Commission sets the tax rate, and passes the budget.  Tax notices are mailed to the person who owned the property as of January 1st of that year.  If a sale ocurrs after January 1st, the Trustee requests a notice for the new owner if the transfer has been recorded prior to the tax file being created.  These are not always available.  If you have not received your notice by late October, please call (615) 384-4238 and we will mail out another one.

 

It is very important that property owners keep up with how many properties are owned (and bought and sold).  Deeds are often recorded in many different names and different ways, and we may not know if we find everything that belongs to you. You should review your notices and bring those with you when you come to pay.  Some properties may have been sold, and you may have purchased others since the first day of January.  These could still be recorded in someone else’s name.

 

Most mortgage companies pay taxes in the month of December.  If you wish to verify your tax payment(s), it is best to wait until January to contact us for that information.  You will still have time to get any error(s) corrected before the March 1st delinquency date.

 

The State of Tennessee offers a property tax relief program for those over 65 and/or those rated totally and pemanently disabled by Social Security Administration or other qualified agency.  The 2017 tax relief is based on 2016 income limited to no more than $29,180 for applicant, spouse, and any others listed on the deed. The applicant must own the home and use it as primary residence for the year applying.

In addition, the State of Tennessee offers a property tax relief program for disabled veterans and widow(er) of a disabled veteran who are totally and permanently disabled from a service related disability.  The 2017 tax relief is based on 2016 income limited to no more than $29,180 for the applicant, spouse, and any others listed on the deed.  The applicant must own the home and use it as primary residence for the year applying.

When applying at the office for tax relief the following items are needed:

1.  Social Security card
2.  Driver’s License or Birth Certificate
3.  Medicare card
4.  Proof of disability (if applicable)

5.  Mobile home title or bill of sale (if applicable)

The DEADLINE for 2017 Tax Relief applications is April 5th, 2018.  All required information, signatures, and tax payments must be in the trustee office before close of business on April 5th.

 

Robertson County has a tax freeze program for individuals over the age of 65.  The 2017 tax freeze is based on 2016 income limited to no more than $35,350 for applicant, spouse, and any others listed on the deed.  The applicant must own the home and use it as primary residence during the year applying through the application deadline of April 5th. When applying in the office, the following items are needed:

1.  Social Security card

2.  Driver’s License or Birth Certificate

3.  Voter registration card or auto insurance card with current address

4.  Mobile home title or bill of sale (if applicable)

5.  Death certificate of any owner listed on the deed is deceased

6.  2016 tax return, if filed

7.  2016 Social Security 1099

8.  If no tax return filed, then provide proof of all income.

The DEADLINE for 2017 Tax Freeze applications is April 5th, 2018.  All required information, signatures, and tax payments must be in the trustee office before close of business on April 5th.

 

**We do not process tax freeze nor tax relief applications in the month of February due to high volume of tax payments, but the application may still be completed throughout March.

 

We accept cash, checks and money orders.  We accept credit or debit cards, however the vendor charges a 2.75% service fee.  If you choose to mail your payment, we do accept postmarked payments.

If you plan to wait until the last week of February, be prepared for long lines.  Please be patient.

 

Please contact our office if you have any questions or concerns.

Phone: (615) 384-4238

Fax:  (615)  382-2316

Email:  KShelton@RobCoTN.org