October 12, 2017

Property Tax Information

Property taxes are due and payable without penalty on the first Monday of October through the last day of February.  You may make partial payments and/or prepayments, however Tennessee State law requires 1.5% interest to be added on March 1st to any unpaid balance and on the 1st of each month thereafter.

You may pay property tax in the trustee’s office during office hours, including partial payments and prepayments.  There is a drop box available by the sliding front door entrance of the county office building if you do not want to enter the office. 

If you are paying your taxes in full, you may pay at Farmers Bank or Reliant Bank.  You must take your tax notice with you to the bank.  You can only pay the current year taxes from October through February.

You may pay or search online at TennesseeTrustee.com.  You may pay over the phone at 1-877-556-4079.  You will need your tax year and receipt number. A $0.30 service fee is charged for phone payments.  This is in addition to the vendor fee of 2.50% with a minimum charge of $2.00 for credit/debit cards (Visa, MasterCard, or Discover) or $1.00 charge for e-checks.  Robertson County collects none of these vendor service fees.

Starting on March 1st, 1.5% interest will be added on the first day of each month to any unpaid balance.

Personal property taxes are turned over to Chancery Court for collection on June 1st following the year of the tax.  The last day to pay in the trustee’s office will be the last working day prior to June 1st.  HOWEVER FOR 2019 THE PERSONAL PROPERTY TAXES WERE NOT TURNED OVER DUE TO THE CURRENT COVID/ECONOMIC SITUATION.  PAYMENTS CAN BE MADE TO THE TRUSTEE UNTIL MARCH 31, 2021 AT 4:30 P.M.

Real property taxes remain in the trustee’s office until they are a full year delinquent. On April 1st of the next year, these are turned over to Chancery Court for collection.  If April 1st falls on a weekend or holiday, these will be turned over on the last working day prior to April 1st.  The last day to pay in the trustee’s office will be the day prior to the turnover date.  If you have any questions about the correct date, please call the trustee’s office.

Ideally, notices are mailed in late September or early October.  This, however, depends on when the County Commission sets the tax rate and passes the budget, how promptly the State can process the tax file, and when our printer can get the notices processed and mailed.  Tax notices are mailed to the person who owned the property as of January 1st of the tax year.  If a sale occurs after January 1st, a notice is requested for the new owner.  If the transfer has been recorded prior to the tax file being created, a notice will be mailed to the new owner.  Unfortunately, these are not always available.  If you have not received your notice by late October, you may go online to TennesseeTrustee.com and print one for yourself or you may call (615) 384-4238 and we will mail another one.

It is very important that property owners maintain records of all the properties owned, purchased, and sold.  Deeds are often recorded in many different names and in different ways.  We may not know if we found all the property that belongs to you when we search by your name. It is best to review your notices and bring those with you when you come to pay. Some properties may have been purchased or sold since the first day of January.  These could still be recorded in someone else’s name.

Most mortgage companies pay taxes in the month of December.  If you wish to verify your tax payment(s), it is best to wait until January to contact us for that information or you may go online to TennesseeTrustee.com at any time to verify the payment status.  You will still have adequate time to get any error(s) corrected before the March 1st delinquency date.

The State of Tennessee offers a property tax relief program for those over 65 and/or those rated totally and permanently disabled by Social Security Administration or other qualified agency.  The 2020 tax relief is based on 2019 income limited to no more than $30,700 for applicant, spouse, and any others listed on the deed. The applicant must own the home and use it as the primary residence for the year applying.

In addition, the State of Tennessee offers a property tax relief program for a disabled veteran and widow(er) of a disabled veteran who was totally and permanently disabled from a service related disability.  There is no income limit for a qualifying disabled veteran or widow(er).  The applicant must own the home and use it as the primary residence for the year applying.

When applying for tax relief, please provide the following items:

1.  Verify legal name:  Social Security card

2.  Verify age:  Driver’s License or Birth Certificate

3.  Verify address:  must provide one with current address — Driver’s License, Voter registration, Social Security or Veterans Administration letter or 1099, Bank Statement, or Auto Insurance policy

4.  Proof of disability (if applicable)

5.  Mobile home title or bill of sale (if applicable)

The DEADLINE for 2020 Tax Relief applications is April 5th, 2021.  All required information, signatures, and tax payments must be in the trustee’s office before close of business on April 5th.

 

Robertson County has a tax freeze program for individuals over the age of 65.  The 2020 tax freeze is based on 2019 income limited to no more than $37,180 for applicant, spouse, and any others listed on the deed.  The applicant must own the home and use it as primary residence during the year applying through the application deadline of April 5th.

When applying for tax freeze, please provide the following items:

1.  Verify legal name: Social Security card

2.  Verify age: Driver’s License or Birth Certificate

3.  Verify address: must provide one with current address — Driver’s License, Voter registration, Social Security or Veterans Administration letter or 1099, Bank Statement, or Auto Insurance policy

4.  Mobile home title or bill of sale (if applicable)

5.  Death certificate if any owner listed on the deed is deceased

6.  2019 tax return, if filed

7.  2019 Social Security 1099

8.  If no tax return filed, then you must provide proof of ALL income from ALL sources.

The DEADLINE for 2020 Tax Freeze applications is April 5th, 2021.  All required information, signatures, and tax payments must be in the trustee’s office before the close of business on April 5th.

**We do not process tax freeze nor tax relief applications in the last couple weeks of February due to high volume of tax payments, but the application may still be completed throughout March.

We accept cash, checks and money orders.  Credit and debit cards (Visa, MasterCard or Discover) are accepted with an additional 2.50% vendor service charge, minimum of $2.00.  If you choose to mail your payment, we will accept the postmarked date for payments.

If you plan to wait until the last week of February to come to the office and pay, be prepared for long lines.  Please be patient.

Please contact our office if you have any questions or concerns.

Phone: (615) 384-4238

Fax:  (615)  382-2316

Contact the Trustee